Crew 15, U.S. Navy PB4Y-2 "Privateer" Patrol Bomber Squadron VPB-118

Information recounted here was obtained from the VPB-118 book, "The Old Crows, VPB-118, The History of Navy Patrol Bombing Squadron 118." Most of the crew names were compiled by James Pettit. Crew photo courtesy James Pettit of VPB-118.

Crew 15 in front of BuNo 59448 “Modest O Miss”; photo (Courtesy James Pettit)

PPC Lt. Henry V. Duba

Crew 15 of VPB-118 consisted of:

(Back row, L-R) Walter C. Hebden, III ARM2c (3rd radio/aft top turret), Lt. (jg) Robert R. Wirth (co-pilot), Lt. Harry V. Duba (PPC), Lt. (jg) Arthur T. Reynolds (co-pilot), Charles W. Hodge AMM2c (plane captain)

(Front row, L-R) Peter W. Wagner ARM2c (1st radio/forward top turret), Edwin W. Balderston AOM3c (bow turret), Douglas A. Evans AOM1c (bombardier/starboard waist turret), Clifton E. Cheatwood AMM2c (2nd mechanic/port waist turret), Roy G. Hanlan AMM2c (3rd mechanic/tail turret), Steven Herdzina ARM2c (2nd radio/forward top turret)

Charlie Hodge’s obituary is very interesting. He will be greatly missed.