Crew 8, U.S. Navy PB4Y-2 "Privateer" Patrol Bomber Squadron VPB-118

Information recounted here was obtained from the VPB-118 book, "The Old Crows, VPB-118, The History of Navy Patrol Bombing Squadron 118." Most of the crew names were compiled by James Pettit. Crew photo courtesy James Pettit of VPB-118.

Crew 8 in front of BuNo 59380, "Summer Storm." The "Summer Storm" nose art, based on Linda Darnell pinup art, was painted just before a B-29 lost power and crashed into her, destroying her (amazingly there were no fatalities). When Crew 3 went MIA they were flying Crew 8's replacement plane, 59449. U.S. Navy Photo (Photo print courtesy of Guy Jones, son of Harold Jones; notes courtesy of Jack Leonard)

PPC Lt. Julian Serrill

Crew 8 of VPB-118 consisted of:

(Back L-R) Robert L. Hinson AMM3c (2nd mechanic/port waist turret), David S. Nevelstein ARM3c (2nd radio/aft top turret), Ens. John E. Hayes (co-pilot), Lt. Julian D. Serrill (PPC), Ens. Harold R. Jones (co-pilot)

(Front L-R) Johnnie D. Butts ARM1c (1st radio), Philip J. Hirrel AOM2c (bombardier), John F. Leonard AMM1c (plane captain/forward top turret), Robert E. Korn AOM3c (1st ordnanceman/starboard waist turret), Jerome P. Malin S1c(ARM) (3rd radio/bow turret), Donald W. First AMM3c (3rd mechanic/tail turret)