Crew 99, U.S. Navy PB4Y-2 "Privateer" Patrol Bomber Squadron VPB-118

Information recounted here was obtained from the VPB-118 book, "The Old Crows, VPB-118, The History of Navy Patrol Bombing Squadron 118." Most of the crew names were compiled by James Pettit. Crew photo courtesy James Pettit of VPB-118.

The Schmuck crew.

PPC Lt. Cmdr. Carl C. Schmuck

The Schmuck relief crew of VPB-118 consisted of:

(Back row L-R) Clarence E. Nelson, ARM1c (1st radio), Garnet C. Snow AMM2c (plane captain/forward top turret), Ens. James A. Leary (co-pilot), Lt. Cmdr. Carl C. Schmuck (PPC/squadron executive officer), Ens. Francis C. Dixon (co-pilot), John P. Armstrong AOM2c (bombardier), Nicholas P. Peltz AOM1c (1st ordnanceman/aft top turret)

(Front row L-R) Robert Thomasma AMM2c (2nd mechanic/starboard waist turret), Alvin O. Leinart S1c(ARM) (3rd radio/bow turret), Robert S. Schmidt S1c(AOM) (ordnanceman/port waist turret), Frederick C. Gumbus S1c(AOM) (ordnanceman/tail turret), Dean K. Shroeder ARM2c (2nd radio/forward top turret)

Lt. Cmdr. Schmuck became the squadron executive officer upon arrival on 7/21/1945.